1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Take the Little League coaches test

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by devodian, Jan 27, 2007.

1. devodian

devodian New Member

I'm a recent college grad who is hungry to improve. You may remember this story. About a month after I wrote this, Ricky Reilly called and put his story on it in SI. Things got a little crazy after that. Let me know your feelings. I have thick skin.

By Ben De Voe

If you’d like to coach 9- to 10-year- old Little League baseball next season you’ll have to submit to the following quiz

Question: If your team is winning by one run in the bottom half of the championship game with the tying run on base, and the other team’s best hitter at the plate, with a surviving cancer victim on deck - do you -

A) Challenge the hitter, because you’re trying to teach 9-year- olds how to overcome challenges and learn how to play baseball.

B) Take a walk to the pitcher’s mound and advise that your hurler be very careful with the next hitter and that a walk wouldn’t be the end of the world.

C) Scream across the diamond to intentionally walk the hitter because the cancer victim is too weak and frail to hit the ball. That way your team can get the easy win, and everyone will commend you for what a brilliant coach you are.

If you chose C, not only are you not allowed to coach, but you will now be forced to wear a dunce cap and suffer the wrath of the firehouse we have set up out back.