1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Sports Writer looking for work

Discussion in 'Freelance/stringer help available' started by InTheCards, Sep 23, 2006.

1. InTheCards

InTheCards New Member

Hi everyone, I'm new to these forums, so I'll introduce myself. My name is Brady Holzhauer. I'm from a very rural part of southeast Arkansas. I am a sports writer for the Stuttgart Daily Leader newspaper in Stuttgart, Arkansas. I am sixteen (soon to be seventeen) years old, and I've been writing a column in the paper for about a year now (since October 2005). I started this job on a volunteer basis, and I still work for free, but now I am looking for a paying sports writing job. I have a lot of credentials to my name, such as:

-I have done interviews with: Famous sports writer Dan Wetzel of Yahoo! Sports, former Arkansas Razorback/Dallas Cowboy/Current AFL Quarterback Clint Stoerner, current Arkansas Razorback basketball players Steven Hill, Sean McCurdy, and Cyrus McGowan, and finally, current minor league baseball players Cory Meacham and Colby Rasmus (St. Louis Cardinals farm system). I am current working on an interview with NFL Wide Receiver Matt Jones of the Jacksonville Jaguars.
    -I have written for MLB superstar Albert Pujols' personal newsletter twice, and I will be writing another article for them before long. (www.pujolsfamilyfoundation.org)
    -I have written for two St. Louis Cardinals websites (www.redbirdcentral.com, www.albertpujolsclub.com) in the past, but I now run my own informal Cardinals MLBlog at http://inthecards.mlblogs.com.