1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Sports Illustrated subscription scam?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by bigpern23, Nov 23, 2015.

1. bigpern23

bigpern23 Well-Known Member

So sometime within the past year, I got a good deal on a subscription to Sports Illustrated. Because the price was so low, I ordered it for two years.

Within probably 8 weeks of receiving my first issue, I began receiving notices that my subscription was going to run out soon. The notices kept coming for a couple months until I finally received one that read "FINAL NOTICE" and they said I was receiving my last issue.

The whole time I kept telling my wife that there was no way this was right.

I haven't really even been reading the issues I've been getting because, frankly, it's just not as compelling as it used to be (I used to read it cover to cover every week), so I decided to just let it go.

Funny enough, since that "final notice," I've continued receiving my weekly issues. I've also received several offers saying "We want you back!", often in the same day's mail as that week's issue.

Has this happened to anyone else? It feels like they're just trying to scam me into paying for another subscription even though mine won't run out for a year.

I could just call them to ask about it if I cared more about whether the subscription has actually run out, but it just seems like a shady practice and I was curious if anyone else has run into this.

2. LongTimeListener

LongTimeListener Well-Known Member

Yes, a Sports Illustrated subscription is a scam.

bigpern23 likes this.
  3. Vombatus

Vombatus Well-Known Member