1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Sports Broacasting

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by bigmac, Dec 30, 2010.

1. bigmac

bigmac New Member

So... I am at a crossroads here. I know I don't want to be a sportswriter any longer -- the hours are a killer, I hate how "passive" it is and it really wasn't the fun job I thought it would.

However, I have started to dabble in radio the last few months. I kind of enjoy it; it definitely is more "fun" than writing, to me. And it is more like I am "performing" when, as a writer, I was just passive. So, maybe, since I will be performing I won't mind working nights and weekends, I don't really know.

I have an option to go to law school in the fall, but would have to give that up to try broadcasting. I am 90% sure I will be able to serve as an intern radio guy for a minor league baseball team this summer, and am thinking of trying that.

For any broadcasters out there... do the hours kill you, or is the job enough fun that it makes it OK?

2. Liut

Liut Well-Known Member

Go to law school. You can always take a shot at radio down the road. FWIW, the pay is typically worse than newspapering. Depending on what type of work you're doing, yeah, the hours will grind you down. I'll be curious what others have to say. Good luck.

3. the hours are "a killer," so you might want to be a lawyer?

yeah, makes sense

4. maumann

maumann Well-Known Member