1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Sorry for the redundandy

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by 1000questions, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. 1000questions

    1000questions New Member

    I know, I KNOW this has been touched on before, but I can' t find the thread. I'm looking for the stat program that colleges use for football. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

    Also, another dumb stats question: Pitcher sets down 27 straight, it's a perfect game; but, what if, there's a foul pop that is dropped by, say, the third baseman; so the game ends, 27 up, 27 down; no baserunners. Is it still a perfect game? Or just a no-hitter?
  2. 2muchcoffeeman

    2muchcoffeeman Active Member

    1. http://dakstats.daktronics.com/Pages/default.aspx
    2. It's a perfect game. That dropped foul ball doesn't matter. Nobody reached base.
  3. Stitch

    Stitch Active Member

    An error is recorded, though, on the dropped foul ball.
  4. Blue_Water

    Blue_Water Member

    Most of the colleges use Stat Crew - www.statcrew.com.
  5. imjustagirl

    imjustagirl Active Member

    WTF is a redundandy?
  6. jgmacg

    jgmacg Guest

    A 'redundandy' is any man who dresses very well, but is prone to wearing the same outfit two days running.
  7. damn you, jgmacg.

    I had a response, but you blew it away.

  8. Football_Bat

    Football_Bat Well-Known Member

    A dropped-foul error is only recorded retroactively if the batter reaches base.
  9. Goldeaston

    Goldeaston Guest

    That's funny. I thought it was a person who repeatedly feels the need to point out simple errors that were nothing more than typos, perhaps to make them feel better about themselves.
  10. broadway joe

    broadway joe Guest

    I don't think that's right. I believe the error is charged for prolonging the at-bat.
  11. OJ1414

    OJ1414 Member

    That is correct. From 10.12 of the MLB rulebook:
  12. imjustagirl

    imjustagirl Active Member

    Or to crack wise.

    One of the two. But you may be right.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page