1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Softball ruling

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Rhody31, May 8, 2019.

  1. Rhody31

    Rhody31 Well-Known Member

    Love to pitch these in this forum. Help figure this out:
    We have a five run per inning max in lower division softball.
    Home team already had three runs for the inning and loaded the bases. Girl hits it out of the park.
    Is that a grand slam? Or a two-run double? Or a two-run home run? Only two runs count.
     
  2. Moderator1

    Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

    "Smith hit a grand slam but, since the (whatever association) rules only allow five runs per inning, only two of the runs counted. The Amazin's scored three earlier in the inning on (whatever)


    You have to give her proper credit for jacking one with the bases loaded. That's a slam
     
  3. Joel Marlou

    Joel Marlou New Member

    Grand slam.
     
  4. TexasVet

    TexasVet Active Member

    "Smith hit a two-run, walk-off grand slam to end the top half of the inning" lol
     
  5. fossywriter8

    fossywriter8 Well-Known Member

    Had a high school game sent in to us this week on GameChanger.
    Tie game, bottom of the eighth.
    Home team loads the bases against a state-ranked league foe.
    Girl lines a hit to right.
    All three runners come home and she ends up on third.
    Team said it won 9-6 and gave the girl a three-run, walk-off triple.
    We wrote the recap saying they won 7-6 with the following sentence in the story (names changed):
    "Though BigHitter was credited with a triple and all three baserunners scored, only FirstGirl’s run officially counted since the game ended when she touched home."
    Haven't heard any complaints yet.
     
  6. I'm a long-time umpire. Only the winning run counts; batter gets credit for a single. Had she hit a hone run that cleared the fence, all the runs would have counted. Ground rule double; two runs would have counted. Your recap was correct save for this detail that no one would care about save for an umpire; the batter-runner also has to touch first base for the run to count and the runners at first and second would each have to touch the next base.
     
  7. Vombatus

    Vombatus Well-Known Member

    This a great thread: intersecting a rule interpretation, scorekeeping, journalism and umpiring.
     

  8. Different rules codes might have a interpretation re; runners touching bases. But the runner on third still has to touch the plate and the batter has to touch first.... that's universal
     
  9. cjericho

    cjericho Well-Known Member

    She has to touch 1b for the run to count? What if the outfielder throws the ball over the fence
    and she doesn't touch first?
     
  10. Tarheel316

    Tarheel316 Well-Known Member

    You will. Someone always complains about something.
     
  11. In that scenario the batter would be out. If it was the third out of the inning none of the runs would score. If less than two outs, the other runs would count
     
  12. HanSenSE

    HanSenSE Well-Known Member

    Fred Merkle agrees.
     
    Baron Scicluna likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page