1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Soccer Shenanigans - Affair derailed 1998 team

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Moderator1, Feb 3, 2010.

1. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

This may be on the soccer thread already, I thought it deserved its own discussion:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/02/02/AR2010020203227.html

Wow. Soccer diehards may have been clued in on this. I had no idea.

2. kingcreole

kingcreole Active Member

For some reason, I thought this was old news and common knowledge. I was an intern for the Kansas City Wizards from 1997-1999. During one game, a group of Wizards fans were chanting, "Hey! Harkes! Why aren't you in France?" So I walked over to the group and asked a guy why they were chanting that. He said, "Harkes knows what he did." I asked again, and he said, "He nailed Eric Wynalda's wife."

After the game, back in the pressbox, I mentioned what the guy said to a couple other guys who did stats. They said they knew already and acted like everyone knew.

From that day, I always wished Wynalda would have kicked Harkes' ass.

Also, didn't the 1982 French team have something similar happen? A player was kicked off for banging Madame Platini?

3. derwood

derwood Active Member

Common knowledge within US soccer community. Yes on Madame Platini.

4. GB-Hack

GB-Hack Active Member

As Grant Wahl noted on his twitter feed last night, nice job of photo selection by SI.com.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/soccer/02/02/harkes.wynalda.ap/index.html

5. TheSportsPredictor

TheSportsPredictor Well-Known Member