1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Snowboarding

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Firstime Caller, Mar 1, 2008.

1. I'm hitting the slopes.

I've been on skis a few times before. I've never tried snowboarding before though, but I was thinking of taking lessons.

What I was wondering though is what is snowboarding like? I've heard it's pretty different than skiing. Is it like surfing? Like skateboarding?

I was just trying to decide if I should try snowboarding (with lessons) or stick with skiing.

2. Rumpleforeskin

Rumpleforeskin Active Member

Take lessons if you are going to try snowboarding. I would stick with skiing. Get the short skis, the trick skis, if you really want to try to do snowboard stuff. They work wonders. Just stay out of the trees.

3. BYH

BYH Active Member

sucks?

4. sportschick

sportschick Active Member

Snowboarding is much easier than skiing as far as time it takes to get decent.

I'd take lessons though. At the very least, you'll learn how to fall so you don't FUBAR your knee.

5. In Exile

In Exile Member

Everyone I know says that although you'll spend your first day on your ass, in three days you'll surpass your skill level on skis. Everyone also says to get the gloves with wrist guards, that prevents your wrist from breaking when you inevitably fall backwards and try to break your fall.