1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

SMG does Alison Overholt

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Evil ... Thy name is Orville Redenbacher!!, Feb 4, 2009.

1. http://www.sportsmediaguide.com/interviews/alison-overholt/

She is an editor for ESPN the Magazine who had no sports experience.
    She offers some great advice for freelancers and people looking to get their foot in the door elsewhere.

2. Who edits Allison because, well, wow:

"My boss at ESPN The Magazine, where I’m a senior editor, has a pet theory that everyone is very, very good at five things. Sometimes big, more often than not small, they are always the things that illuminate and define us. My five explain my career path as well as anything else..."

3. broadway joe

broadway joe Guest

Am I missing something? What's so bad about that passage?

4. Her Web site is pretty sharp.

And to cross thread, she went to Harvard and got a government degree. Ahem.

5. Fredrick

Fredrick Well-Known Member

She couldn't have presented herself in a better way. Her answers exuded class and a positive outlook. Somebody should ask her take on the future of newspapers and magazines for the hell of it.

6. Boomer7

Boomer7 Active Member

I think she stole it from the Successories portion of the SkyMall catalog.

7. Editude

Editude Active Member

Sounds a little canned, but that's part of the ESPN familiarity approach.

8. Johnny Dangerously

Johnny Dangerously Well-Known Member