1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Small College Athletics Change

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Zads07, Apr 11, 2014.

1. Zads07

Zads07 Member

Hey everyone,
    Just wanted to get some input on what to do in this situation for a friend.

I graduated from a small school (10,000 enrollment) back in August of 2013 (still looking for a full-time job), and I was the Sports Editor of the weekly college paper there from 2012-2013.

I led the resurgence of the sports section which had not been focusing on the campus athletics when I came in. Now, my friend is the Sports Editor there, and I helped train him into the position.

The athletics department recently went through some changes. Before I graduated, they changed the school mascot in September. With that, came some changes in the athletic department.

The school let go of the AD, and put in charge, an interim AD who had previously played sports for another college. She's not very transparent in many of the changes that are happening. Along with the AD, she has fired nearly every other coach, or made them retire/resign. (Women's Basketball (twice)/Men's Basketball/Soccer/Cross Country/Softball/Assistant AD/Volleyball (this guy had been there since the inception of the team, 32 years).

They post on their website, but not about the changes of the staff in the department.

When he tries to get information from the Interim AD, responses are slow, and he could schedule a meeting with her but could take awhile because this person is so busy. The school is supposed to be hiring a new AD come this summer, from what I've heard.