1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Sign the scorecard? Not as Wie-sy as it sounds

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by doubledown68, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. doubledown68

    doubledown68 Active Member

    Hey, Michelle... great 67. Unfortunately, you didn't even have to show up today.

    My only question is this: Obviously, LPGA officials knew about this last night. Why not call her then? Or tell her when she gets to the course. Or as she's stepping to the first tee. Or at the turn.

    Why the fuck would you wait until after she's done for the day?
     
  2. spnited

    spnited Active Member

    The real question is why isn't an official in the tent on Friday allowed to tell her "You forgot to sign this," when she hands in the unsigned scorecard.

    This is one of the dumbest rules in all of sports.
     
  3. doubledown68

    doubledown68 Active Member

    No argument here. The way it was handled was worse.
     
  4. pallister

    pallister Guest

    What's dumb is that a professional golfer would forget to sign his/her scorecard. Wie knows the rules; she should have followed them.
     
  5. Beaker

    Beaker Active Member

    That's ridiculous. You make her play a whole other round before telling her? Jeebus.
     
  6. pallister

    pallister Guest

    Granted, that, too, is dumb.
     
  7. pressmurphy

    pressmurphy Member

    Any other cynics think the desire to attract a large Saturday crowd might have factored into the delay in DQ'ing her?
     
  8. Beaker

    Beaker Active Member

    I had that thought, but then why didn't they just tell her when she handed in her unsigned scorecard?
     
  9. 2muchcoffeeman

    2muchcoffeeman Active Member

    According to the LPGA release, they didn't notice the oversight themselves until she'd already gone out today.
     
  10. spnited

    spnited Active Member

    Then she should appeal the DQ...if they didn't notice until after her round today, she should be allowed to finish.
     
  11. 2muchcoffeeman

    2muchcoffeeman Active Member

    They noticed during her round today, but that's not the reason for the DQ. She left the scorer's tent yesterday without signing her scorecard (Rule 6-6b), which is why she was DQ'd. Technically, she shouldn't have been allowed to tee off today.
     
  12. spnited

    spnited Active Member

    But once she teed off today, it should wipe out yesterday's mistake. They shouldn't DQ her retroactively.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page