1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

SIDs should double-check stories and photos

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Stitch, Nov 12, 2011.

1. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

What's wrong about the feature story on North Dakota State beating San Francisco?

http://gobison.com/

I understand it was a road game, but still, don't use old photos for a current story.

2. DrewWilson

DrewWilson Member

Not every school has the resources to have a photographer at every game. So are they just supposed to not use a photo at all? It's no different than newspapers using file art.

I'm a sports editor turned SID, so I understand your point. But I have a photographer shoot two soccer games a year and that's all I have to work with for an 18-game season at my DIII school. I try to single out photos where opponents aren't visible for those games against different opponents, but sometimes that just isn't always possible.

3. Turtle Wexler

Turtle Wexler Member

Do you have nothing better to do with your day than troll the North Dakota State website?

Those web systems require a photo to publish a story. It's unlikely there is an option to publish without a photo. As DrewWilson said, getting fresh art is tough. Getting fresh art from a road game two time zones away would be nearly impossible, if you're NDSU.

4. Versatile

Versatile Active Member

I can't think of one school that doesn't do this for most smaller sports and road games for basketball occasionally. They're not bound to the same ethical commitments we are, nor should they be. They don't serve the same function.