1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Seeking Advice

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by HeinekenMan, Aug 1, 2006.

1. HeinekenMan

HeinekenMan Active Member

I was pitching a story a few days ago when an editor asked about my qualifications and experience. After I shared that information with him, he noted that he was hiring a full-time editor and encouraged me to apply. Here we are a few days later, and I have landed an interview.

The problem is that I've been freelancing for six months and have grown to like it. I earn a fair wage while working less than 40 hours per week, and I spend a lot of time with my kids. So I'm in a bit of a quandary regarding what I should do if offered the job.

On my list of positives are
    • job would pay more than any job I've ever worked
    • job would pay approximately $10,000 more per year than I am likely to make freelancing
    • job would give me health insurance and other benefits, possibly 401K
    • job would provide a steady stream of income
    • job would be the most distinguished of my journalism career
    • job would be a step toward an even better position

On my list of negatives
    • I would sacrifice about $12,000 per year in daycare costs
    • After daycare costs, my income would be about the same as my freelance work affords
    • I would sacrifice the wonderful time that I spend with my children each weekday
    • I would no longer be my own boss

Those are short lists. I'll probably think of more pros and cons later. But I'd really love someone's unbiased perspective.

2. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member