1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Resume help

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by jla74m, Aug 2, 2012.

1. jla74m

jla74m Member

I have 15 years of sports journalism experience, but I've made quite a few stops at shops along the way. I was laid off from my last job and, again, I'm applying for new employment. Looking for any good advice to explain that I am a stable employee.

2. reformedhack

reformedhack Well-Known Member

How many is "quite a few stops" in 15 years?

If you've been at, let's say, five or more stops during that time, there's pretty much no way of attesting that you offer some long-term stability. Unless, of course, you've been laid off multiple times in those 15 years ... that's a different story.

Your cover letter will have to do some of the heavy lifting. You'll certainly want to explain being laid off in your most recent job(s). You'll also want to explain/spin why you've changed jobs so often (especially if you've moved to positions of higher responsibility or authority) if you think you've moved a lot.