1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Reporting, photography at the same time

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by the_bank, Oct 15, 2009.

1. the_bank

the_bank New Member

Hi guys,

I'm a sports freelancer and I had a question for those who pull double-duty during high school sporting events.

Recently, while freelancing for a web site, I've been asked by the editor to snap a few pictures on top of the normal duties of covering the game.

My questions for those that do this: do you guys have any advice on I can get better at this?

My first outing doing this last week was below average. I normally stay in the press box because I keep stats but while I did manage to keep track of the game flow on the sidelines, my pictures were not up to par. I took a lot of pre-snap plays and etc.

The editor didn't say anything bad about the pictures but I would like to become better at taking pictures. Is there a certain time I should snap pictures during the game or just play it by ear? I'm afraid I will miss a key play here or there if I am fooling around w/ the camera.

I use a digi camera with 8.0 megapixels.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Drip

Drip Active Member

Anticipate the play. Keep the camera focused on key individuals. Get your shots early in the game, then you can do all the other bs. Good luck.

3. forever_town

forever_town Well-Known Member

Actually, pre-snap may be your best bet if you don't have a camera with enough shutter speed to get action photos.