1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Reporter -- Decatur, Ill.

Discussion in 'Journalism Jobs' started by Ryan Gregg, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Ryan Gregg

Ryan Gregg New Member

I am a copy editor on the desk here, so feel free to pm me with any questions.

Herald & Review
    Decatur, Illinois
    Job Status: Full-time
    Salary: Not Specified

Description:
    The Herald & Review is seeking an enthusiastic, innovative writer to help us keep up with an area rich in top sports programs, to develop sources and come away with more than just a game story. We cover more than 50 high schools. The person must also be versatile enough to hop over to cover colleges and general assignment work and perform copy editing duties once or twice a week.

Send resume and work samples to: Mike Albright, sports editor, Decatur Herald & Review, 601 E. William, Decatur, Ill., 62525 or email them to malbright@herald-review.com.

2. zhbuchanan

zhbuchanan New Member

Anyone know how much Illini coverage is there? From the website, it looks like the executive sports editor handles all the Illinois stuff.

3. steveu

steveu Well-Known Member

It's a Lee shop, that much I know... from my travels through the area it seems to be a pretty solid paper.

4. jwerner56

jwerner56 New Member

The Decatur Herald-Review does cover the Illini but that all goes to Mark Tupper, the sports editor, who's covered the beat for decades. This sounds like a high-school only gig, but it's a good paper in a sports-rich area between Springfirled, Peoria and Champaign. Just a short 2 1/2-3 hour drive to Chicago and an hour and a half or so from St. Louis.