1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Reading too many stories . . .

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by BillyT, Nov 23, 2007.

1. BillyT

BillyT Active Member

In New England, Thanksgiving is arguably the most important football day of the year. It decides the playoffs and fires up old rivalries.

The next-best thing is the day after, especially with the “wonder of the internet.”

As I have said before, I have been a sports writer for a long time, although I am only stringing right now. I still read a lot of newspapers, live and on the web. Maybe I get too picky, but I had a bunch of thoughts I thought I would share.

While some of these are specific, I think there are enough generalities in the comments to make it worth posting here.

I spent much of this morning reading web pages from Connecticut, Rhode Island and Massachusetts – where Thanksgiving is key – and New York, where it’s just the day before football championship weekend.

1. If you are a statewide paper, and you are, there needs to be a playoff story and a bracket – easy to find – on the front of your sports web page. It ain’t that hard. Oh, and the same thing goes if you are a major regional paper in, say, the western third of your state. Where’s the playoff information?

2. Ya know what, coach, we don’t much care that you had kids suspended for the first game of the season? What-ifs, my butt. If your snapper gets the ball to your kicker, and your receiver doesn’t drop a TD pass . . . yeah, you probably win.

3. From the radio: Bad local announcers sound just as bad on an internet stream.