1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Re-discovering your old music

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by micropolitan guy, May 27, 2014.

1. micropolitan guy

micropolitan guy Well-Known Member

In another thread I noted the joy of re-discovering cassette-taped music I originally recorded in the 1980s but hadn't listened to for at least 25 years (my stereo system has a cassette player but I hardly ever used it).

About an hour ago I started playing a tape simply called "Assorted Oldies." What a treat. Rascals, Lovin' Spoonful, Buffalo Springfield, Hollies, Chicago, Small Faces, very old Beatles, Eric Clapton, Kansas, Joe Cocker, Thunderbyrd ... I can hardly wait to attack the other cassettes as the summer progresses. I found another "Assorted" tape I made that featured the name of a state was in each song title, and another with songs about former girlfriends (not all complimentary).

"Dialogue Part I & II" is on now. Feels like I'm cruising off to a Badlands or lake cabin weekend again, armed with a case of Schmidt with the geese on the cans.

2. jr/shotglass

jr/shotglass Well-Known Member

My cassettes -- and player -- are long gone. But Grooveshark has taken up the slack.

Among the songs on my latest mix:

"I'm Telling You Now," Freddie & The Dreamers
    "Will You Love Me Tomorrow," by the original composer, Carole King
    "Cosmic Dancer," T.Rex
    "Because," The Dave Clark Five
    "Song On The Radio," Al Stewart (remember him?)

3. Riptide

Riptide Well-Known Member

I don't ever want to hear REO Speedwagon again.

But Boz Skaggs is still cool.

4. Huggy

Huggy Well-Known Member