1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Randy Edsall Story

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by doublej, Dec 1, 2006.

1. doublej

doublej New Member

I will start by saying I'm a recent college grad working for a small paper in Pennsylvania. I've been working on this story on the side for about a month, so I thought this would be a good place to get some feedback. Any thoughts at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

The coach stands behind the podium with his legs shoulder-width apart, looking oddly comfortable as he's bombarded with questions.¶

His team has just lost its seventh game of 2006, suffering its fourth defeat of the year in its three-year-old, $91.2 million stadium. On this Saturday afternoon in late November, a missed extra point was the turning point in the game. It allows Cincinnati to tie the score, 23-23, on a touchdown with 2:19 left in the fourth quarter. The Bearcats then engineer the game-winning drive for a field goal with 10 seconds remaining in regulation.¶

Many would call this the low point of the season. A loss to lowly Syracuse on the road the week before and this Saturday's defeat puts the coach's team at 4-7 — crushing any chance of a bowl invitation. The coach has also faced problems off the field this year, dismissing five players from the program in October after the group purchased beer the night before a conference game. ¶