1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Question for people who work at weeklies

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Mr. X, Jan 21, 2014.

1. Mr. X

Mr. X Active Member

What brings you joy from your work? I'm not getting any joy from my job for the weekly newspaper and just wanted to see where others with similar jobs found joy.

I've been doing this for 14 years on a part-time basis and almost nothing good has happened for me. I have a full-time job with a daily organization, which can bring joy. Quitting this job before the high school sports season ends is not an option until I find another full-time job.

2. SnarkShark

SnarkShark Well-Known Member

I've done both.

Working at a weekly, I've found most joy writing in-depth features, but at that gig, I was allowed by the bosses there to spend a lot of time on those, while not worrying too much about news.

I realize that may not be the case everywhere, but that was an experience where I was happy at a weekly.

3. Mr. X

Mr. X Active Member

Almost no chance for me to write in-depth features. I basically just write short summaries of the past week's events.

4. Spartan Squad

Spartan Squad Well-Known Member