1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Question for experienced Journalists

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by pderrick, Dec 21, 2011.

1. pderrick

pderrick New Member

All,
    Just wanted a bit of advice from some experienced journalists. I'm a Network Architect with an electrical engineering degree making close to 6 figures in the Houston area. I'm currently 27 years old and unfortunately this isn't what I want to do. I have always wanted to be a sports journalist. I'm currently enrolled at the University of Houston trying to work my way toward a journalism degree but wanted to ask you guys what is the best way to get my foot in the door? Im currently writing some odd and end freelance stuff and doing some writing for an online company. Just wanted to get your guys take and see what route you guys think I should take or what kind of jobs I should be looking for?

2. Flying Headbutt

Flying Headbutt Moderator Staff Member

You can start by donating 80-percent or so of your salary to charity, since that's how much less you'll be making.

3. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

If you have a bachelors degree, you don't need another one. Take a few courses in journalism, including media law, and start freelancing for small papers in the area. At this point, your best bet is to start a blog, be serious about it, and hope it gets recognized for quality journalism. If you want to make $30k/year for the rest of your life, just quit your job now and write for the student paper.

4. TheHacker

TheHacker Member