1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Question about the whole calling things in thing

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by SkiptomyLou, Sep 22, 2011.

1. SkiptomyLou

SkiptomyLou Member

I'm a college freshman and I hear you guys talking all the time on here about coaches who have a bad habit of calling things in. Maybe it's my naivity, but aren't the writers at the game supposed to keep track of stats? Or is it a thing of the sports department isn't big enough to cover every game so they rely on some coaches to call in but not others? If they call it in, how do you write a story for it without quotes? Just wondering.

2. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

Newspapers can't cover every game.

Sometimes the coach only calls in so the paper has info for the box score. Other times, a coach calls in to get a short story in on a game and quotes will appear. Those stories usually don't have a byline (at least at any paper worth its salt).

3. You can't cover every game every night. Results have to be called in.

4. flexmaster33

flexmaster33 Well-Known Member

Yes, most weeklies or multi-weeklies are lucky to have a staff of 2 or 3 writers/freelancers...many are one-person shops. And in most areas we're covering anywhere from 5 to 30 high schools. We get to the big games each week, and have an extensive recap section where every school has a chance to get their results into the paper, but it's on the teams to find a way to send us those details.

5. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member