1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Putting an offer on a house

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Jim Tom Pinch, Jul 17, 2011.

1. Jim Tom Pinch

Jim Tom Pinch Active Member

My wife and I are contemplating putting an offer on a house that we toured that just went on the market. I'm new at this and not entirely sure how much to offer compared to the asking price. Any advice would be welcomed.

2. PCLoadLetter

PCLoadLetter Well-Known Member

Get a realtor.

The realtor can see what comparable homes are going for, and will have an infinitely better idea of what the home is worth than you will. It won't cost you anything and will lead to you getting a much, much better deal.

3. imjustagirl

imjustagirl Active Member

Yeah, DEFINITELY get a buyers' agent. That person will be working on your behalf. They get a cut from the seller, I think. Costs you nothing.

4. MrWrite

MrWrite Member

What everyone else just said.

Believe me, this won't be the last question you have in the process, and having an agent will give you someone who knows the answers better than a message board, even one full of recent homebuyers like this one.

5. LongTimeListener

LongTimeListener Well-Known Member

Everyone will send you toward a 30-year mortgage, which is standard and not horrible if that's your only way to get into the market, but humor yourself and investigate the 15-year possibility. The interest charges in the early years of a 30-year mortgage prevent you from building equity, and on the off chance you stay there for a long time, a 15-year would save you tens of thousands of dollars over time.

6. 93Devil