1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Product marketing that sucked you in

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Monday Morning Sportswriter, Nov 7, 2013.

1. Monday Morning Sportswriter

Monday Morning Sportswriter Well-Known Member

The thread on extravagant items got me thinking about things I buy because the people who market it found a way to get their hooks in me.

I have two: Edge shaving cream and Degree deodorant.

For more than 20 years, thats all I've ever bought. I know the formulations have changed and I've rolled with different scents and stuff, but I only buy those brands.

Why? Because when I was a freshman in college, they were in these giveaway bags that got shoved into your bookstore bags every time you bought something. I probably had a half-dozen of each, and I used them till they were gone.

Then, I bought more. And more. For 20 years. All because some marketing plan called for giving the stuff away to college kids.

2. ucacm

ucacm Active Member

I remember getting a free Mach 3 starter kit in the mail shortly after I turned 18. I used Mach3 almost exclusively until I discovered the cheap CVS knockoff of the Gillette fusion.

3. bigpern23

bigpern23 Well-Known Member

Ditto on the shave kit. I exclusively use Gilette shave gel because they mailed me a sample when I turned 16 or 18 and it felt smoother than the Barbasol I had been using. Still use it to this day and the razors to go with it. I clung to me Sensor Excel two-blade razor close to two decades, but I've found the refills harder to come by and finally switched to the Mach 3 last month.