1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Pro Football Hall announces 2010 finalists

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Della9250, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. Della9250

    Della9250 Well-Known Member

    Tim Brown – Wide Receiver/Kick Returner – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
    Cris Carter – Wide Receiver – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
    Don Coryell – Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers
    Roger Craig – Running Back – 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings
    Dermonti Dawson – Center – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers
    Richard Dent – Defensive End – 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles
    Russ Grimm – Guard – 1981-1991 Washington Redskins
    Charles Haley – Defensive End/Linebacker – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
    Rickey Jackson – Linebacker – 1981-1993 New Orleans Saints, 1994-95 San Francisco 49ers
    Cortez Kennedy – Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks
    Dick LeBeau* – Cornerback – 1959-1972 Detroit Lions
    Floyd Little* – Running Back – 1967-1975 Denver Broncos
    John Randle – Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Minnesota Vikings, 2001-03 Seattle Seahawks
    Andre Reed – Wide Receiver – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
    Jerry Rice – Wide Receiver – 1985-2000 San Francisco 49ers, 2001-04 Oakland Raiders, 2004 Seattle Seahawks
    Shannon Sharpe – Tight End – 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens
    Emmitt Smith – Running Back – 1990-2002 Dallas Cowboys, 2003-04 Arizona Cardinals
  2. Bubbler

    Bubbler Well-Known Member

    Brown, Carter, Rice, Smith, Haley. Tough ballot.
  3. mb

    mb Active Member

    Won't be any empty ballots on this one.
  4. Trey Beamon

    Trey Beamon Active Member

    Damn, that's a pretty impressive list.

    I'll go with Rice, Smith, Carter, Sharpe and Grimm.
  5. Care Bear

    Care Bear Guest

    I wonder if Haley will put out his acceptance speech or something else at the podium.
  6. PopeDirkBenedict

    PopeDirkBenedict Active Member

    Rice, Smith, Carter, Haley, Sharpe. Randel just misses the cut.
  7. Michael_ Gee

    Michael_ Gee Well-Known Member

    Any other year, Craig is justly inducted. But having two no-brainers in their first year hurts him.
  8. John

    John Well-Known Member

    Are there limits to how many can go in at once? Six or seven of those guys are definitely Hall worthy.
  9. nmmetsfan

    nmmetsfan Active Member

    Could make a strong case for almost every finalist.

    Smith, Rice, Carter, Sharpe and Haley are my bet to make it

    Smith, Rice, Haley, Grimm and Randle would be my vote, if I had one, with Reed, Carter and Sharpe the next best
  10. Michael_ Gee

    Michael_ Gee Well-Known Member

    John, the upper limit is seven, but one of 'em has to be one of the two asterisked old-timers, so it's really six. There have been maybe only one or two years, back when the Hall was starting up, when the legal max (it's moved around) was elected.
  11. Liut

    Liut Well-Known Member

    I'd like to see Coryell get in, but it's not happening with that group.
  12. DanOregon

    DanOregon Well-Known Member

    It will be like a Dancing With The Stars reunion: Emmitt Smith and Jerry Rice and then Tim Brown, Russ Grimm, Don Coryell and Charles Haley and I'll give the nod to Dick LeBeau in whatever category you want. And I'd write in Ed Sabol.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page