1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Prep Softball: Runner Interference

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Central-KY-Kid, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. Bottom of the sixth, two outs, runner on second, No. 6 batter at the plate, Home team winning 1-0
    Batter hits ball between second and third. Runner on second base runs into shortstop before shortstop even has a chance to touch the ball and while third baseman makes move toward ball. Field umpire calls time, rules runner interference, inning over

    Visiting team ties game in top of seventh.

    Home team bottom of seventh:
    - No. 7 Batter steps to plate, hits first pitch for double
    - Visiting team says No. 7 batter batted out of order and should be out since No. 6 batter should still be at the plate (Said runner interference does not constitute a complete at-bat)
    - After both umps have meeting, they rule No. 6 batter's plate appearance was a fielder's choice to end the sixth
    - With No. 8 batter now up, visiting pitcher has a wild pitch (No. 7 batter moves to third). No. 8 batter singles home winning run

    Was this the correct ruling? If not, what is correct?
     
  2. Overrated

    Overrated Guest

    Not sure, but sounds right.

    Why would the No. 6 hitter bat again? That just sounds like some coaches trying anyting while not knowing themselves.
     
  3. mike311gd

    mike311gd Active Member

    Sounds right to me.
     
  4. zeke12

    zeke12 Guest

    The batter who was up at the time of the interference is scored FC, and the next batter in the lineup leads off the next inning.
     
  5. Matt1735

    Matt1735 Well-Known Member

    As an umpire, that ruling is absolutely correct.

    The batter's time at-bat ended when she put the ball into play. Doesn't matter how the third out occurred.

    The prior poster was correct with how it is scored (reaches first by FC).

    Good for the umpires to get it right.
     
  6. doubledown68

    doubledown68 Active Member

    Don't know how the ball could be put in play and the at-bat NOT considered complete.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page