1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Prep football stat questions

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by The Computer Says No, Sep 8, 2008.

1. I've been covering prep games for a couple of years now and have always been sort of winging it on things like these, but I figured I should take advantage of the experts on here.

When there is holding behind the line, are any offensive stats gained on that play erased?

On those holding penalties, do you just give the standard 10-yard penalty or is it the 10 yards plus however many yards the infraction occurred behind the line of scrimmage?

Those are the only two I can remember for now, but I'm sure some others will come to mind if this thread progresses. Thanks in advance.

2. HandsomeHarley

HandsomeHarley Well-Known Member

It is my understanding that in high school, a holding penalty negates all negative stats. Therefore, a 5-yard loss with holding is just a 10-yard penalty from the original line of scrimmage, with no carry for the ball-carrier (or pass attempt, etc.).

3. pseudo

pseudo Well-Known Member

Funny you should ask, because we just had a multi-page thread on prep football stats, and JBHawkEye dropped this link on Page 4:
    http://apse.dallasnews.com/2008/aug2008/082608hsfbstats.html

Here's what the .pdf available there says:
    From that, to answer your first question, it looks like there's no rushing attempt/yardage awarded. (Hmph. I may have screwed that up for one play this week. I'd better go back and check.)

Second one seems fairly clear.

4. joe_schmoe

joe_schmoe Active Member

I had a bizzare one happen this weekend.