1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Premier League

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Corky Ramirez up on 94th St., Mar 14, 2012.

1. Corky Ramirez up on 94th St.

Corky Ramirez up on 94th St. Well-Known Member

Perhaps this belongs on the soccer thread, but I figured in a way this wouldn't fit there.

I consider myself a fan of soccer, but up to this point it's been relegated to playing and writing about it. I'm a newbie when it comes to the Premier League and have tried to catch it when the matches are on TV — including today's 3-0 win for Liverpool — and reading up. I'm even dedicating myself to watching/reading about the MLS this year.

Anyway, my question is, who should I follow in the Premier League? I don't want a team that has one multiple times (Man U), just a solid team with history that plays well and has an outside chance of winning the championship at some point — kind of like a Northeastern or Harvard in the Beanpot. I went through this 15 years ago when the Whalers moved. I couldn't stay away from hockey for too long, so I became a nomad ... I tried liking the Maple Leafs, Canadiens (WTF was I thinking) and Islanders, but couldn't do any of them. Finally, in 2007, I just bit the bullet and started following the Bruins (since every game is broadcast here in Connecticut, and there were no players on the team who played against Hartford in 1997), and have been rewarded ever since. I consider myself a diehard Bruins fan now ... but i don't pay much attention to the span between 1979 and 1997. :)