1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Potential new job

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Madhavok, Dec 6, 2011.

1. Madhavok

Madhavok Well-Known Member

For the past five years I haven't had what some would say a 'real job' or what I like to call them, 'career-oriented' jobs and honestly I've been OK with that. I shuffle between my winter job of being a terrain park supervisor at a big corporate mountain in CO and recently at the local golf course as a bag boy (amazing tips) in the summer.

A few weeks ago I was notified about a job at the big corporate mountain in the marketing department. While I have no experience whatsoever in this field besides marketing the parks on my own (facebook, twitter) and helping with organizing events and stuff of that nature, I was mildly surprised of their interest. I take that back - the department used four of my ideas last season when I was invited to their meetings.

Anyway, finally got the offer the other day and the pay is terrible in my opinion. Not only would it be a pay cut, but it would be salary (ok for the slow months) and only 10-month. Which isn't terrible. Leaves me more time to travel. The biggest factor is pay. That is the end all and I know there is more to a job than money, but I'm not in the business of making sideways or for that matter, moving backwards. Dew Tour is upon us and this where I love being hourly as I basically work two weeks straight with a week of doubles.