1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Potential conflict on a fan project?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Golazo21, Aug 2, 2012.

1. Golazo21

Golazo21 Member

Hey guys, just posting here to get some wisdom on the following situation:

I'm a beat writer for the Bodunk 11 and recently, a fan who regularly shoots Bodunk's home games from the stands e-mailed me about a possible yearbook-type collaboration for the players and coaches first then, perhaps, selling copies to the general public with a portion of the proceeds going to Bodunk's charitable foundation. Given that Bodunk doesn't publish a yearbook per see, it seems like a cool idea.

According to the fan, he's run this idea by some of the players via Twitter and e-mail, and they're supportive of it. Since then, he's asked me of my interest in doing a Q & A for each player to go along with his photos.

I reviewed this with my sports writing association, and they don't see it as a problem. But here are my concerns:

1. Is this a situation where I could be perceived as "stepping on someone's toes" within Bodunk's organization since there is no yearbook?

2. Am I being too paranoid in believing that my participation in this kind of project would compromise my objectivity? I don't plan on writing flowery profiles, but rather, asking each player a few questions in a Q & A format.

3. What other potential problems/issues might arise if I were to take on this project?

Thoughts, opinions and insight are welcome. Thanks!

2. Versatile

Versatile Active Member