1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Posnanski: A Sportswriting Rough Draft

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Inky_Wretch, Mar 26, 2009.

1. Inky_Wretch

Inky_Wretch Well-Known Member

http://joeposnanski.com/JoeBlog/2009/03/24/a-sportswriting-rough-draft/

2. SF_Express

SF_Express Active Member

The ethical questions will always be there -- the free stuff and all that -- but the fact sports writers and editors have been taking themselves too seriously for a long time is something I've been saying for a few years now, and there are times, despite all the good work that was also created by it, I half regret my involvement in putting IRE and sports writers together in a series of seminars (again, valuable ones) that I think contributed to this process going too far.

3. In Exile

In Exile Member

Almost started a post about this, but it seems to fit with the discussion being sparked here.

Recently saw a sportswriter's post on Facebook in which he - a fairly recognizable name - answered a Facebook poll about "Five teams I Hate," or something like that - and then it listed the five teams he hated. Seemed to me that crossed a line - to publicly announce teams you hate. What am I to think now if this writer writes something about one of those teams? He has just announced his bias to the world.

4. buckweaver

buckweaver Active Member

Probably a generational thing, but I don't take that stuff seriously. I would never think that type of stuff is going to affect somebody's professionalism if and when they have to cover something involving that team or athlete.