1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Please Help

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by RAWright1987, May 24, 2007.

1. RAWright1987

RAWright1987 New Member

I am currently a sophomore at a local junior college in Alabama. I plan on transferring to the University of Alabama and majoring in journalism in hopes of one day becoming a sports journalist. I have aspired to be a sports journalist since I was in the 8th grade and my interest reached an all-time high last December when I volunteered to work within the Media Relations Department at the inaugural PapaJohns.Com Bowl in Birmingham, Al. I was exposed to many different occupations that day that deal with sports and I can not think of anything better than dealing with sports on an everyday basis and making money off of it. So if any of you guys can.....give me some pointers and help show me the right direction to go. I would greatly appreciate it.

2. BYH

BYH Active Member

I would learn to spell relations.

3. Cadet

Cadet Guest

You won't make any real money off it.

4. Damn, Cadet beat me to it.

5. SoSueMe

SoSueMe Active Member

If you're in it to make money, wrong biz.

You'll "get paid to watch sports" as some say. But that's about where the money ends. There ain't much left over after a month of bills.

6. RAWright1987

RAWright1987 New Member