1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Please Critique My Stories (Women's Basketball)

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by deviljets7, May 15, 2007.

1. deviljets7

deviljets7 Member

Since I am new here, let me first introduce myself. My name is Jason and I am the Sports Editor at my student newspaper (it is a weekly paper). Before becoming an editor I was a staff writer for three years.

Here are two stories I would like to get some feedback on (don't worry, be as mean as you feel neccessary). The first one is on a contract extension that head coach Jennifer Rizzotti received in April.

The second one is on Hartford's loss in the America East Championship. I should note that the Championship occured during the middle of spring break, so it was published more than a week after the games actually occurred. For length reasons, I'm going to put the second story in the next post.

Rizzotti, Hartford Agree to Contract Extension
    Jason Bernstein
    Issue date: 4/12/07 Section: Sports

The face of women's basketball at the University of Hartford should be staying for years to come. On Thursday, April 5, the University announced that they had agreed to a contract extension with head coach Jennifer Rizzotti. The extension puts Rizzotti under contract through the 2013-14 season. Financial terms were not disclosed, but Rizzotti is believed to have earned a significant raise from the contract she signed in 2006. Her old contract was through the 2009-10 season.