1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Photoshop Rules

Discussion in 'Design Discussion' started by amraeder, May 30, 2007.

1. amraeder

amraeder Well-Known Member

I'm pretty new in the business and was wondering what the rules are at other shops.
    Anyway, I was trying to do some fancy photoshop work for main art for a state soccer preview in today's section. I'm filling in on the desk for my boss who has the day off, and apparently he didn't know until recently that we were going to have a preview. So I'm stuck with old art. The plan was just to go to old photos, get some cut outs of players from the two teams from the area going to states, throw them on a dramatic background, maybe add some text, bada-bing, bada-boom.
    Well, I got yelled at by the photogs for this.
    Apparently we're not allowed to touch a photo with photoshop unless it's for the cover of a special section, and only then with the permission of the ME. So I'm kinda SOL.
    Just wondering if this is unique to here, or if it's pretty standard practice. I know some of the designs I see in here seem to involve some photoshop work, so I was wondering what the rules at your shops are.

Anyway, thanks.

2. Chi City 81

Chi City 81 Guest

I've worked at places where photogs guarded photos with their lives, and at places where photogs didn't give a shit as long as you asked them first. Sounds like you're pretty much fucked.

3. amraeder