1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Opinions on College Basketball Column...

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by shark08, Aug 7, 2006.

1. shark08

shark08 New Member

Hey guys. I've been navigating and reading (soaking in actually) all of the information on this board, and as a young sports writer I'd like to thank all of you for the professional incite on the field and situations that arise on a daily basis.

Anyway, I am a recent college grad (May 2005) and hooked on with a wire service as my first gig in the field. After only three months on the job, I became the company's columnist for college basketball -- a position I felt was given to me without the proper resources to compete but I've been building sources, staff lists, collegiate phone directories ever since.

I thought I'd post some of my columns on here to get the opinion of the best in the business. Constructive criticism and ways to improve my writing are always welcome along with just general comments.

Thanks to however has the time to read my pieces and offer some advice.

Thanks again.

The Main Line's Mission To March

Not many of the 10,300 total students at Villanova remember forward Ed Pinckney. They were in diapers or an apple in their parents' eye when the eighth-seeded Wildcats made 22-of-28 field goal attempts to shock defending national champion Georgetown in the 1985 title game.

Twenty-one years later, the largest Catholic university in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania continues to be shaped by its religious heritage and breathtaking campus.