1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

ONLY in high school baseball

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by HanSenSE, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. HanSenSE

    HanSenSE Well-Known Member

    And I chose, on this day, to cover a rivalry game in softball that was mercy-ruled:


    But for those just wanting the money shot:

  2. Bamadog

    Bamadog Well-Known Member

    Wow. An obscure rule for sure.

    Last night, I covered one of our three teams in the first round of the playoffs. Their three pitchers had 10 walks, hit two batters and the defense added six errors behind them. This team, in 29 games, has 133 walks and 97 errors. Needless to say, they lost 10-0.
  3. 93Devil

    93Devil Well-Known Member

    BW, didn't that happen in the bigs in the last few decades?
  4. Steak Snabler

    Steak Snabler Well-Known Member

    Yes. On May 28, 2005.

    Dodgers reliever Duaner Sanchez threw his glove at a ground ball hit by D'backs center fielder Luis Terrero. Automatic triple awarded.

    Here's the box:


    Here's the scoring notation:

    LA Times story:

  5. Chef2

    Chef2 Well-Known Member

    I thought the interference rule came into play only when the ball was hit by the glove.
  6. deskslave

    deskslave Active Member

    I'm pretty sure that's correct.

    By the way, a piece of particularly awful writing from that LAT story:

  7. Steak Snabler

    Steak Snabler Well-Known Member

    Yeah, I should have been more clear. Sanchez DID hit the ball with the glove.
  8. Chef2

    Chef2 Well-Known Member

    ah ha.
  9. TheSportsPredictor

    TheSportsPredictor Well-Known Member

    So ... not only in HS baseball?
  10. Football_Bat

    Football_Bat Well-Known Member

    So an outfielder can throw his glove at a home run ball and the slugger has to stop at third? Neato.
  11. Steak Snabler

    Steak Snabler Well-Known Member

    I think it's a home run if the umpire determines it would have gone over the fence. Not sure that's ever happened, though that would definitely be better than Rick Camp's home run [/crossthread]
  12. Drip

    Drip Active Member

    He'll remember the next time.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page