1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

One Person's View on How to Fix Newspapers

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by concernedjournalist, Mar 11, 2008.

1. concernedjournalist

concernedjournalist New Member

I have been a journalist for more than 20 years and, like many, I am heartbroken by what has happened to our industry. I have watched and waited and hoped the business would find a way to rebound and remake itself in the internet age. But all I read about are layoffs, space cuts and stock price free falls. And nobody seems to have the answer.

I don't pretend to have the answer, either. But like others, I have some suggestions. So I offer this as a starting point for a discussion.

I would prefer to stay anonymous for now, if only to avoid the possibility that some will prejudge this based on who I am, and who I am not. I'd rather it be judged on its merit. Some will recognize my ideas, as I have discussed them with others from time to time. No, I am not involved in any of the current threads on the subject, but they certainly did spur me to write down these ideas I have been thinking about for some time.

Also, I assume throughout that the focus for newspapers going forward is on the web product, as I think we all will agree that it is the future of our industry.

With that in mind, here's my list of ways to fix newspapers (apologies for the length):