1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Olympic athlete feature

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by Xodus, Jul 12, 2008.

1. Xodus

Xodus Member

Hey, I'm an intern at a 45-50K shop and I was hoping to get feedback on this feature I just wrote. Thanks!

Listening to Brian Harper recount some of Olympian Sam Sacksen’s exploits at the Unified Training Center, you get the sense that you’re hearing the tales of a special person who has made himself into a special athlete.
    Despite what his svelte 6-foot-2, 175 pound frame would lead you to believe, Sacksen is far from your typical athlete. The word that may best describe him is random.
    “We had reached the end of one of our (fencing) matches and I asked him if he wanted to go for ten more minutes,” Harper said. “He said ‘yeah, we’ll do one more match, but let’s make it seven minutes.’ And I asked him why and he said ‘because that’s more random.’”
    It’s that randomness that makes Sacksen a special athlete, and makes him a favorite to earn a gold medal in Beijing later this summer.
    Sacksen is competing in what would be safe to call the most grueling Olympic event you’ve never heard of: the pentathlon. The pentathlon consists of five different events which the participants must complete in two days. The event begins with shooting a 22-caliber pistol at stationary target 10-meters away, followed by one-touch fencing bouts, a 200-meter freestyle swimming competition, equestrian show-jumping and a 3K marathon.