1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

No NFL team to cheer for

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by MTM, Jan 17, 2008.

1. MTM

MTM Well-Known Member

I am a pro football fan who has no NFL team I'm passionite about.
    Some of my co-workers tell me my opinions on their team doesn't matter because I don't have a team of my own.
    I grew up a fan of a team that moved out of town and unlike many, didn't want to just pick a new team. I think jumping on a bandwagon would have been worse that not having a team.
    Does my opinion count? If so, how do I prove it does?

2. hockeybeat

hockeybeat Guest

Your opinion is far more valid than those whose eyes are clouded by fanboi glasses.

3. mike311gd

mike311gd Active Member

Tell your co-workers to go fly a kite. I'd rather listen to an objective, intelligent point of view than someone who might as well be on the team's payroll.

4. poindexter

poindexter Well-Known Member

I haven't had an NFL team I cheered for since elementary school, and I love the NFL. It's great not being a fanboi. I just like watching good games and competition. The NFL playoffs usually come through.

5. Oz

Oz Active Member

Second that. Nothing wrong with being an NFL fan, as opposed to having to follow on specific team.

6. outofplace

outofplace Well-Known Member

MTM, take a look through some of the threads here. If anything, posters on here are attacked for showing too much allegiance to a particular team.

Your co-workers are full of crap.

7. mike311gd

mike311gd Active Member