1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Newspaper sportswriting or sports information

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by UNCGrad, Jul 21, 2010.

1. UNCGrad

UNCGrad Well-Known Member

I've been a small-paper sports editor (10,000 circ.) for 12 years, but may have an opportunity to jump into an Asst. SID position at a university. Has anyone out there made this jump? Pros/Cons? Has the change been a revelation for you, or would you go back to newspapers first chance you got?

2. Mizzougrad96

Mizzougrad96 Active Member

Take the SID job.

3. Dick Whitman

Dick Whitman Well-Known Member

I've never quite understood the appeal of sports information. Aren't the hours just as bad and the pay just as low? I suppose I can see it if you're young and want to climb the ladder into administration some day. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

That being said, I suppose that newspapers are dying, and team Web sites are one of the million reasons why. You're not just passing out stats and game notes on that job any more. You've become another media source. I'm sure sports PR is a lot more sophisticated and engaging than it was 10-20 years ago.

4. Mizzougrad96

You're choosing between bad and worse, but SIDs have better job security.

5. Flip Wilson

Flip Wilson Well-Known Member