1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

News/Sports Copy Editors/Designers - Cox Media Group, West Palm Beach

Discussion in 'Journalism Jobs' started by Matt Stephens, May 22, 2012.

1. Matt Stephens

Matt Stephens Well-Known Member

Two postings from jjobs. I'm not a designer and might go crazy copy editing all day, but I love seeing these types of jobs come open for someone. Looks like it's a design hub in West Palm Beach, Fla.

2. bevo

bevo Member

Hope this will be nothing like working at the Gannett hubs. Of course there are a lot fewer papers in Cox...and they are fairly large ones at that.

To any who applies, if they end up using Newsgate and CCI...run away...FAST!

3. Disagree . . . any hub putting out a lot of pages nightly could benefit from using CCI, a front end and design system known for knocking out a lot of inside pages quickly. Something a hub, theoretically, is going to have to do. As for front pages . . . sure, it's more limiting than InDesign, but if you know what you want to do going in, anything is possible in Layout Champ.
    Don't know anything about Cox papers, but I wouldn't let CCI scare anyone away if they are OK working for Cox.

And no, I do not have any affiliation with Cox or Gannett. :) Just have a lot of experience with CCI.

4. BTExpress

BTExpress Well-Known Member

Anything is possible in LayoutChamp. It works seamlessly with InDesign and/or Illustrator, so there really are no limitations.