1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

New Sports writer would like advice

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by kuballer2369, Jan 24, 2010.

1. kuballer2369

kuballer2369 New Member

I'm 19 years old and I just got a job as a sports writer for a pretty decent size newspaper. (Circulation is 19,991 copies) I'm a freshman at a Junior College and I am majoring in communications. I have only been working at the paper for about 3 weeks. Up to this point, I have been doing mostly just agate and prep sports roundups.

I am scheduled to cover my first sports event this Tuesday, which is a high school boys basketball game. I am completely new to this sports writing, but sports are my passion and I am a very quick learner. I have a few questions that maybe some of you experienced guys out there could possibly answer. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Any general advice on covering basketball games?

Are there any textbooks or books in general that I can read that will teach me the basics of sports writing?

I am still doing my gen eds in college so it will be at least another year before I can take journalism classes. I want to know of some good books I can read to teach myself.

Any make, model, brand voice recorder suggestions?

If there is anything else you think I need to know, please feel free to give me your input.

THANKS!!

2. awriter

awriter Active Member

A few things:
    1) Keep a play-by-play and stats, but don't bog the story down with that stuff;