1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

New here, but don't take it easy!

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by pressboxramblings07, Mar 29, 2007.

1. I guess I can use this thread to somewhat introduce myself. I've been reading the site for a while now, and decided to register. I'm a young writer at a 40,000-daily in Texas, and I've really enjoyed the insights and help many of you guys have offered.

I do a little bit of everything ... design, write stories, columns, etc. It's enjoyable, especially at 20 years old and working full-time. I've found more of a love for column-writing, and have gotten some outside opinions, but I wanted to get some more. So officially, it's awesome to meet you guys.

Don't take it easy on me. Here is a column I wrote the day after the Colts-Patriots AFC Championship game. It's one of my favorites that I've written, but that may change after you guys get done with it. Anyways, here goes:

Dear God,
    As I sit here on this bench, I just can't watch Tom Brady move down the field with a minute left in the game.

We have the lead, but this is where you made him his best, God, and I just can't look up.

I'm starting to wonder … Is there anything I did to suffer year after year while Tom gets the Super Bowl rings and the praise and the attention?

It's not those MasterCard commercials was it, God?

(Brady incomplete pass to Reche Caldwell).

Because if that's the case, God, I won't do another one of those commercials. I wasn't even in it for the money. I just wanted to wear a moustache and find a new way to meet women.