1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Negotiating Freelance Salary

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by mustangj17, Feb 17, 2013.

1. mustangj17

mustangj17 Active Member

Hoping some experienced freelancers could help me out. I currently freelance for two publications. One is local newspaper where I have written a weekly technology column for 3+ years, the other is a local magazine where I have been a contributing writer for 2+ years.

I'm in good standing with the editor's at both locations and each have told me I among their most reliable writers. I never miss deadlines, pick up slack when others do and always have fresh ideas to help fill pages.

Because of these reasons, and my experience, I feel I should be making more money. However, I'm not sure how to go about negotiating the salary. Complicating matters, I've never met either of the editors - we only communicate via email.

What is the best way to go about negotiating my per-story salary and what are some success stories from those who have done similar negotiations?

Thanks

2. silvercharm

silvercharm Member

I know I'm nitpicking here, but be sure never, ever to refer to your freelance compensation as "salary." Salary is what a paid staffer receives, not a freelancer. Many newspapers insist on certain verbiage when it comes to freelancers ... generally anything that separates you from being a staff writer.