1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Needing feedback

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by KG, Apr 13, 2007.

1. KG

KG Active Member

I'm just a rookie with a column in a Podunk, a trucker mag and some occasional web site stories, so I know I have a long road ahead.

I'm not getting any feedback, good or bad from my editor so I thought I'd turn here. This was last week's column. It's usually more strictly a race report but with only one of the series running last week I had to stretch it out. The part about the music venture was meant to be a sidebar but ended up within the race story, so it looks somewhat out of place.

I could go on and on and rip it apart but I'm curious as to what others think.

2. KG

KG Active Member

Lebanon, Tenn.— Carl Edwards won the Pepsi 300 at Nashville Superspeedway, giving himself a 321 point lead in the Busch Series. This is a larger early-season lead than last year's champion Kevin Harvick had by this same race. For now, Edwards is keeping thoughts of a championship on the back burner so he can enjoy the racing. Other than the giddy Mark Martin, no other driver seems to have as much fun as Edwards and it shows when he wins a race.

“That was a blast,” Edwards said. “The car was so great in practice. I felt like it was our race to lose, and then they dropped the green flag and we went backwards like a rock. I was really nervous there for a little while because I thought we must have missed something. PK (Pierre Kuettel, the No. 60 crew chief) and the guys did a great job of regrouping. I was feeling pretty rough there and they made the car a lot better.”