1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Need advice on dealing with editor

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by jetssack, Jan 25, 2010.

1. jetssack

jetssack Member

I'm a freelance writer who has worked my way up from weeklies to bigger papers and finally was recently asked by an editor (to whom I had pitched an idea) to be a regular freelance contributor to his paper's blog.

Here's my problem: this guy is the worst editor I have ever dealt with but the paper is one of the top dailies in the country.

So far I've written three features for him. He is a complete flake - forgets who I am, forgets what we agreed to, forgets that I emailed him. I pitched one story with a major athlete, which he greenlighted - and before I could interview the guy, he gave it to someone else to write! ("I thought you'd dropped it.")

Another pitch he never replied to (and he had emailed me, saying he was desperate for pitches). One story I filed copy on deadline and when it didn't appear online that day, I called him to ask why and he said he hadn't read my email yet because he was too overwhelmed with emails (this was 24 hours after I'd filed the story.)

He writes cheesy headlines that I'm embarrassed to have my byline under. On the first story, he totally rewrote my lede - and it was awful. The second story he didn't touch at all. The problem is the third story. He hacked it to pieces.