1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Moving to freelance--Do I incorporate myself?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Dale Cooper, Jul 20, 2007.

1. Dale Cooper

Dale Cooper Member

Searching for advice from people who have been through this or know anything about it:

I'm on the verge of changing jobs, and my new one will pay me as if I'm a freelancer -- no taxes taken out, no benefits, etc. How have some of you handled this, and what would you recommend? Do I incorporate? Does it matter? How much can I write off?

Thanks in advance,
    Dale

2. somewriter

somewriter Member

Virtually any expense that has a business-related portion is deductible, including the portion of your house from which you work. I would consult a CPA for details; you will be hiring one to do your taxes if you're asking these kinds of questions.

3. Andy Dufresne

Andy Dufresne Member

Great question that merits some serious research. I was considering this move myself, but the notion of filing that quarterly self-employment tax (or whatever it's called these days) has always been a formidable deterrent. Perhaps incorporation could be our saving grace.

4. jgmacg

jgmacg Guest