1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Moonlighting as sports talk radio host

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Traveling, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Traveling

Traveling Member

Anyone out there who balances both? I'm a sports editor of a small daily and have the opportunity to, shall we say, expand my reach and influence. So any advice or stories that you can pass on, be it in this thread or via BM, would be greatly appreciated.

2. Baron Scicluna

Baron Scicluna Well-Known Member

If any advice is given that way, odds are, it'd be pretty shitty.

3. Traveling

Traveling Member

Coming from a poster whose initials are B.S., it figures you would know best.

I'm hoping people get that BM in my original post stands for board mail.

4. LongTimeListener

LongTimeListener Well-Known Member

No matter how dumb you think you are, to do talk radio, you have to get dumber.

5. ColdCat

ColdCat Well-Known Member

are you doing this specifically to expand your brand and your paper's brand? In other words are you going on the air as "Podunk press sports editor Traveling"? If so, that's a good move. It opens you up to a new audience.

6. Smasher_Sloan

Smasher_Sloan Active Member

If you're doing it daily, it will take up more of your time than you realize. You end up cheating both jobs.

7. Traveling

Traveling Member

That's how I'm selling it to my superiors. The reception from that argument was good.

8. Ben_Hecht

Ben_Hecht Active Member

That's the optimum defense. But they'll notice if you don't hold up their end.

9. jr/shotglass

jr/shotglass Well-Known Member