1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Michigan could forfeit win over Penn State

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by jakewriter82, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. jakewriter82

    jakewriter82 Active Member

    Jerry Seinfeld isn't as funny as this year's Wolverines team.

    Apparently they used an ineligible player in 4 games this season.

    Moderators strike this if it's been discussed already..but here's the story link.
  2. DanOregon

    DanOregon Well-Known Member

    Does that mean Notre Dame might get their first "win" of the year?
  3. Oz

    Oz Well-Known Member

    Sure seems like it.
  4. jakewriter82

    jakewriter82 Active Member

    Maybe, but what a shitty way to pick up a win. If I were Penn State I wouldn't want it. You lost, and there's no way one player who might have been ineligible could have changed that.
    College football is crazy sometimes.
  5. DanOregon

    DanOregon Well-Known Member

    I smell bowl eligibility...
  6. Colton

    Colton Active Member

    Here in Ohio, one of the state's goliath programs, Canton McKinley, had to forfeit its season-opening win -- a 66-6 blowout -- for using an ineligible player.

    The kid in question played one down.

    The QB kneeldown to end the game.

    So, if Go Blew doesn't forfeit, does that mean the Ohio High School Athletic Association swings bigger hammer than the NCAA?
  7. Twoback

    Twoback Active Member

    If that one player were the quarterback or a 100-yard RB, maybe.
    But to take this win would be so cheezy.
  8. Colton

    Colton Active Member

    It shouldn't be up to Penn State to take the win or not.

    If the rule was broken, whatever the penalty is for breaking the rule is there.

    It should be enforced.

    Or don't have the rule... and don't have said penalty on the books.
  9. The possible forfeit only applies to the Penn State game.

    The player was ineligible under Big Ten rules, but eligible under NCAA rules, so the possible forfeiture only applies to conference games.
  10. slappy4428

    slappy4428 Active Member

    Story said forfeiture was "one option" so it doesn't mean it's automatic.
    But geez, when it rains, it pours in this season for Michigan
  11. STLIrish

    STLIrish Active Member

    Damn. Irish can't catch a break this year. I was all ready to start looking for hotels for Christmas week in Shreveport.
  12. wickedwritah

    wickedwritah Guest

    How should a "win" against Michigan affect Penn State's standing in the polls? Part of me says it should, but a bigger part of me says that Penn State proved it was not a top-20 team by its pathetic performance that day.

    Doesn't really matter, since the loss to Illinois really puts a damper on the season.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page