1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Memphis radio host blasts Commercial Appeal

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by memphis jim, Jul 4, 2007.

1. memphis jim

memphis jim New Member

Hey guys, I am new here. I have been reading the board for a while but have never posted. I am a journalism student at the University of Memphis. I wanted to ask you guys a question about something that I have been observing here. There is a radio host (his name is Chris Vernon) that has been consistently breaking Grizzlies stories on his blog. The Commercial Appeal has never given him credit. Now he has fired on them in his blog. http://chrisvernon.blogspot.com/2007/07/can-brother-get-some-credit.html

The latest scoop was the radio guy reporting on Monday that the new Grizzlies Gm was in Argentina visiting with Andres Nocioni.
    http://chrisvernon.blogspot.com/2007/07/cvernoncom-exclusive-grizzlies-gm.html

Two days later, the CA reported the same news story with no attribution whatsoever. In other words, they did not credit the radio guy or even site any sources of their own. They just wrote the story as matter of fact.
    http://www.commercialappeal.com/mca/grizzlies/article/0,1426,MCA_475_5614849,00.html

So my questions are whether the radio guy has a legitimate beef and is the Grizzlies beat writer (Ron Tillery) in the wrong, or is this just another radio guy crying about nothing?

2. Eagleboy

Eagleboy Guest

I get a lot of stuff like this where I work, and it bothers me to no end. I know how Chris feels.